BACK TO TOP

Sample Letter & Lloyd's Email Addresses

Dear [insert name here],

I am writing to you with regards to your potential involvement in the Woodhouse Colliery at Whitehaven, Cumbria, and other coking coal projects. I am one of many people concerned that West Cumbria Mining is seeking insurance for the mine via the Lloyd’s of London marketplace. Michaele Hawkins has informed me that she believes that the West Cumbria Mine is not currently insured through the Lloyd’s market. We would like [name of insurance company] to go one step further and commit to not ever insuring this new mine, and no other future coking coal mine.

Woodhouse Colliery will be the first new deep coal mine in the UK for 30 years. There has been strong opposition to the project on environmental grounds. The Woodhouse Colliery will result in huge CO2e emissions. We cannot open new coal mines and avoid catastrophic climate change. This mine will extract 2.78 million tonnes of coal per year and is not compatible with the Paris Agreement or the UK 6th Carbon Budget.

Following a push from community campaigners, Robert Jenrick Secretary of State has called a Public Inquiry to look more closely into the project. In September 2020 Robert Jenrick ruled out the Highthorn opencast coal mine citing its environmental and climate impacts. This shows how the issues raised by campaigners are not only of local relevance, but they are nationally and internationally relevant.

Further to this, coal is the biggest contributor to anthropogenic climate change. Climate change is affecting communities in the Global South first and hardest, despite they are not the ones who have caused the problem. In the Global North, is it communities of colour and working class communities that are on the frontlines of climate change. The climate crisis is a justice issue.

We believe you should not insure the Woodhouse Colliery and any new coking coal mines on the following grounds:

  •  The Woodhouse Colliery project is not compliant with the UK’s commitments under the Paris Climate Agreement.
  • The Woodhouse Colliery project will delay the shift to cleaner steel in the UK and Europe.
  • Any new coking coal mine will lock the world into more CO2 emissions, make a transition to a low-carbon future even harder, and condemn many communities to lose their livelihoods due to runaway climate change.
  • There needs to be no new policies or renewals of policies, for coal underwriting from today.

We hope you will be able to take a clear stance and rule out insuring the Woodhouse Colliery and any new coking coal mine.

Please could you confirm receipt of this email. I look forward to hearing your response.

Yours sincerely,

[Your name]

Names and emails of the directors of insurance companies that have not ruled out insuring the West Cumbria mine:

Name Contact Email
AEGIS Managing Agency Limited William Hillman, Senior Vice President & Chief Underwriting Officer williamhillman@aegislimited.com
Allied World Managing Agency Limited Darren Powell, Active Underwriter, darren.powell@awac.com
Alpha Insurance Analysts Limited James Sparrow, Managing Director and Analyst james@aianalysts.com
AmTrust Syndicates Limited Alex Christians, Underwriting Director alex.christians@anv.eu.com
Antares Managing Agency Limited Jim Lyle, Head of Energy & Terrorism jlye@qicglobal.com
Apollo Syndicate Management Limited David Ibeson, CEO david.ibeson@apollounderwriting.com
Arch Underwriting at Lloyd's Ltd Hugh Sturgess, CEO hsturgess@archinsurance.co.uk
Argenta Private Capital Limited see below below
Argenta Syndicate Management Limited David Monksfield, Chairman, david.monksfield@argentagroup.com
Argo Managing Agency Limited David Snowden, SVP Group Communications david.snowden@argogroupus.com
Ark Syndicate Management Limited Ian Beaton, CEO ian.beaton@arkunderwriting.com
Ascot Underwriting Limited Andrew Brooks, CEO andrew.brooks@ascotuw.com
Aspen Managing Agency Limited Jamie Lewis - Head of London Aspen Re, jamie.lewis@aspen-re.com +442071848319 jamie.lewis@aspen-re.com
Asta Managing Agency Limited Julian Tighe j.tighe@asta-uk.com CEO, Keith Nevett k.nevett@asta-uk.com Head of Business Development j.tighe@asta-uk.com
Atrium Underwriters Limited Richard Harries, CEO Richard.Harries@atrium-uw.com
Axis Managing Agency Ltd Victoria Rodrigues da Costa, Senior Underwriter victoria.rodriguesdacosta@axiscapital.com
Barbican Managing Agency David Reeves, CEO david.reeves@barbicaninsurance.com
Beazley Furlonge Limited Sally Lake, Group Finance Director sally.lake@beazley.com
Brit Syndicates Limited Brian Randall, Energy Director brian.randall@britinsurance.com
Canopius Managing Agents Limited Rachel Sabbarton, Head of Energy Rachel.Sabbarton@canopius.com
Capita Managing Agency Limited Simon Sykes, CEO CSIS.enquiries@capita.com
Catlin Underwriting Agencies Limited (owned by AXA) Sean McGovern, CEO at Lloyd's sean.mcgovern@axaxl.com
Chaucer Syndicates Limited Ed Lines, Active Underwriter, Syndicate 1084

Michael Dawson, Active Underwriter, Syndicate 1176

ed.lines@chaucerplc.com

michael.dawson@chaucerplc.com

Chubb Underwriting Agencies Limited Evan G. Greenberg, CEO evan.greenberg@chubb.com
CNA Hardy Jalil Rehman, CEO Jalil.Rehman@cnahardy.com
Endurance at Lloyd's Limited Julian James, CEO jjames@sompo-intl.com
ERS Syndicate Management Limited Peter Bilsby, CEO peter.bilsby@ers.com
Faraday Underwriting Limited Tom Shelley, CEO tom.shelley@faraday.com
Hamilton Managing Agency Limited Adrian Daws, ceo adrian.daws@hamiltongroup.com
Hampden Agencies Limited Stephen Harris, CEO Stephen.harris@hampden.co.uk
HCC Underwriting Agency Ltd Susan Rivera, CEO srivera@tmhcc.com
Hiscox Syndicates Limited Kate Markham, CEO kate.markham@hiscox.com
Lancashire Syndicates Limited Alex Priestly, Head of Energy alex.priestley@lancashiregroup.com
Liberty Managing Agency Limited Matthew Moore, President matthew.moore@libertyglobalgroup.com
Managing Agency Partners Limited Chris Smelt, ED csmelt@mapunderwriting.co.uk
Markel Syndicate Management Limited Paul Jenks, ED paul.jenks@markelintl.com
MS Amlin Underwriting Limited Chris Beazley, CEO Chris.Beazley@msamlin.com
Munich Re Syndicate Limited James Grainger, Head of Energy & Aerospace jgrainger@munichre.com
Navigators Underwriting Agency Limited Tim Ryan, Head of wholesale business timothy.ryan@thehartford.com
Nephila Syndicate Management Limited Richard Oduntan, CEO richard.oduntan@nephila.com
Newline Underwriting Management Limited Andrew Higgins, Senior Underwriter AHiggins@newlinegroup.com
Premia Managing Agency Limited Bill O'Farrell, CEO bofarrell@premiareus.com
QBE Underwriting Limited David Harries - Director of Financial Market david.harries@uk.qbe.com
RenaissanceRe Syndicate Management Limited Bryan Dalton, CUO bmd@renre.com
Riverstone Management Limited David Pearson, Head of Delegated Authority & Client Management david.pearson@rsml.co.uk
S.A. Meacock & Company Limited Matthew Bartlett, CEO matthew.bartlett@sameacock.com.
Sirius International Managing Agency Limited Robert Harman, CEO robert.harman@siriusgroup.com
Starr Managing Agents Limited James Johnson, Head of Power James.johnson@starrcompanies.com
Talbot Underwriting Ltd Chris Rash, CEO Paula.Storey@talbotuw.com
The Channel Managing Agency Limited Stuart McMurdo smcmurdo@scor.com
Tokio Marine Kiln Syndicates Limited Nick Hutton-Penman, Deputy Group CEO nick.hutton-penman@tokiomarinekiln.com
Travelers Syndicate Management Limited Nick Rnjak nrnjak@travelers.com
W.R.Berkley Syndicate Management Limited Alastair Blades, CEO ablades@wrbunderwriting.com

Lloyd's of London online rally - Safer spaces agreement

Lloyd's of London online rally - Safer spaces agreement

We welcome everyone, regardless of life or organising experiences, in this space. We believe each of us has something to contribute to the struggle for climate justice, and much to learn from others.

We are committed to creating a space where everyone is treated as equal, and people are not afraid to speak, ask for questions, and contribute to discussions. We seek to see our differences as just that, differences not ways to drive us apart.

We define oppression as any behaviour that demeans, marginalises, threatens or harms anybody. We collectively commit to challenging it, whether it shows up in language, or actions. If anyone were to display such behaviour towards others, the organisers will take a course of action discussed between them and those who have suffered from the behaviour. This might include talking to the perpetrator, soliciting an apology, or - in some scenarios - asking the perpetrator to leave the space.

We are aware of the range of different identities that people might bring to this space, including - but not limited to - genders, races, religious, classes, sexualities, abilities. We don’t make assumptions about people. This is a trans-inclusive space, and we respect people’s chosen use of pronouns. If you are unsure about people’s names or pronouns, ask, offering yours.

In particular, we take into account these principles:

Consent. We do not assume that our own physical or emotional boundaries are the same as someone else’s. Ask for explicit consent before talking about sensitive topics.

Be aware of your own privileges. Societies has raised us with hidden hierarchies, which play up in organising spaces. Actively challenge them. Be aware of how much space you are taking, and who you are excluding as a consequence.

Calling out. If you are being called out because of your behaviour, listen and reflect, even though your first reaction might be of defending yourself.

Learning. Ask if you don’t understand something, but don’t expect an immediate explanation. Don’t assume that people with lived experiences of oppression will answer you. You might be redirected to a resource, such as a book or a website. We all have responsibility to do our own learning, and if able to, talk about it with others.

Labour. We are all expected to contribute something to our struggle. It is ok to make mistakes, and to ask for help if needed. Thank people for the work they have done. Also consider what tasks you are taking up, and why - those can be reflective of your privilege. For example, it is a societal expectation that women do housework, which can reflect into women taking up more tasks such as cleaning, or cooking.

Security. Take into account that online organising spaces are not safe. During physical gatherings, we cannot guarantee the absence of journalists, or even undercover police officers. Don’t talk about something that could put you or other people at risk of harm.

Community accountability. We are all accountable for respecting these principles. If you notice something in breach of this policy, raise it with the safer spaces policy rep: daniel@coalaction.org.uk

Stop Lloyd's of London Insuring Adani Mega-mine

Right now, Lloyd’s of London is insuring climate wrecking coal mines, tar sands pipelines and power stations, across the world. Insurers can single-handedly stop fossil fuel projects, but have failed for decades to take action in the face of a climate emergency.

Lloyd’s accounts for 40% of the total global energy insurance premium and is a key influencer in the global insurance industry. Send Lloyd’s a message to act on the climate emergency, not act as the last refuge for climate wreckers to secure insurance!

Even in a year of lockdowns and restrictions, people across the world are standing up to Lloyd’s, and it’s working.

Leading the charge has been the #StopAdani movement in Australia. They have pushed most of Lloyd’s insurers to rule out insuring a coal mine that would open up the Galilee Basin and potentially more than double Australia’s current coal exports.

Adani's proposed coal mine is the most environmentally and socially contentious project in Australia's history, the object of years-long resistance from the Wangan and Jagalingou Traditional Owners and the broader community.

Just days after 750 people in the UK joined the Stop Adani movement by writing and calling Lloyd'd insurance companies, the extra pressure helped convince Brit to rule out insuring the Adani coal mine. Now the Stop Adani moment has asked us to pile the pressure on another key Lloyd's insurer - Hiscox.

Hiscox are rumoured to be sitting on an unreleased coal policy, that could see them stopping insuring all new coal mines. We want them to realise their policy ahead of the 3rd March, when they announce their annual profits.

Help #StopAdani get in touch with top Lloyd's insurer Hiscox now!

Get in contact via Hiscox via LinkedIn, Phone or even Google calenders!

Write to Hiscox to demand they rule out Adani

Phone Lloyd's Insurers Arch, Brit and Hiscox

Welcome to the bottom of the barrel! If you have a risky, slow, expensive project, the big insurance companies won’t insure you alone. So you go to Lloyd’s. Lloyd’s is an insurance marketplace. Within the marketplace are lots of small insurance companies. When you bring your project to Lloyd’s, Lloyd’s goes to each of the small insurance companies, cobbling together the insurance that you need, spreading the risk of your project out.

There are only a few Lloyd’s insurers who have failed to rule out insuring Adani, such as  Arch, Brit and Hiscox.

Once you've signed up we'll give the numbers and a suggested script to help you with the call.

Some numbers are marked as LEAVE MESSAGE, these you won't speak to anyone but will have a chance to leave a message for when they get back in the office. If you are happy to speak to someone in person then you can call the ones marked SPEAK IN PERSON. If you have got time to both that would be great.

For some people the form below is defaulting to US phone number - please click 'not in the US'  below to change your country.

Coal Action Network is Recruiting!

Campaigner (Maternity Cover) Part-time, Freelance

We're looking for a new team member to work with us October 2020 - April/May 2021!

You'll play a key role in accelerating the end of coal-fired power in the UK, in a way that strengthens the environmental justice movement and centres communities on the front lines of extraction.

You'll have experience of sustained grassroots campaigning and/or community organising with or in support of communities and have a proven commitment to climate justice.

We can train you up in practical campaign skills, and we hope we can learn a lot from you as well.

How to Apply

Before you apply
Please download the Recruitment Pack and read the Job Description and Person Specification carefully. We will offer you an interview based on the extent to which you meet the Person Specification.

RECRUITMENT PACK contains all the details about the role including the Job Description and Person Specification. Read this before you apply: Recruitment Pack_Campaigner Maternity_Coal Action Network

EQUAL OPPORTUNITIES MONITORING FORM: Please complete and return with your application: Coal Action Network Equality-and-diversity-monitoring-form

To apply
Please send the following to isobel@coalaction.org.uk no later than midnight 24.09.20

1. A covering letter (maximum 2 pages) to explain:

How you meet the Person Specification, giving examples of your experience.
Why you want to work with Coal Action Network as Campaigner (Maternity Cover)

2. Name and contact details of two referees

3. Completed Equal Opportunities Monitoring Form

Please do NOT send us a CV with your application.