BACK TO TOP

Sample Letter & Lloyd's Email Addresses

Dear [insert name here],

I am writing to you with regards to your potential involvement in the Woodhouse Colliery at Whitehaven, Cumbria, and other coking coal projects. I am one of many people concerned that West Cumbria Mining is seeking insurance for the mine via the Lloyd’s of London marketplace. Michaele Hawkins has informed me that she believes that the West Cumbria Mine is not currently insured through the Lloyd’s market. We would like [name of insurance company] to go one step further and commit to not ever insuring this new mine, and no other future coking coal mine.

Woodhouse Colliery will be the first new deep coal mine in the UK for 30 years. There has been strong opposition to the project on environmental grounds. The Woodhouse Colliery will result in huge CO2e emissions. We cannot open new coal mines and avoid catastrophic climate change. This mine will extract 2.78 million tonnes of coal per year and is not compatible with the Paris Agreement or the UK 6th Carbon Budget.

Following a push from community campaigners, Robert Jenrick Secretary of State has called a Public Inquiry to look more closely into the project. In September 2020 Robert Jenrick ruled out the Highthorn opencast coal mine citing its environmental and climate impacts. This shows how the issues raised by campaigners are not only of local relevance, but they are nationally and internationally relevant.

Further to this, coal is the biggest contributor to anthropogenic climate change. Climate change is affecting communities in the Global South first and hardest, despite they are not the ones who have caused the problem. In the Global North, is it communities of colour and working class communities that are on the frontlines of climate change. The climate crisis is a justice issue.

We believe you should not insure the Woodhouse Colliery and any new coking coal mines on the following grounds:

  •  The Woodhouse Colliery project is not compliant with the UK’s commitments under the Paris Climate Agreement.
  • The Woodhouse Colliery project will delay the shift to cleaner steel in the UK and Europe.
  • Any new coking coal mine will lock the world into more CO2 emissions, make a transition to a low-carbon future even harder, and condemn many communities to lose their livelihoods due to runaway climate change.
  • There needs to be no new policies or renewals of policies, for coal underwriting from today.

We hope you will be able to take a clear stance and rule out insuring the Woodhouse Colliery and any new coking coal mine.

Please could you confirm receipt of this email. I look forward to hearing your response.

Yours sincerely,

[Your name]

Names and emails of the directors of insurance companies that have not ruled out insuring the West Cumbria mine:

Name Contact Email
AEGIS Managing Agency Limited William Hillman, Senior Vice President & Chief Underwriting Officer williamhillman@aegislimited.com
Allied World Managing Agency Limited Darren Powell, Active Underwriter, darren.powell@awac.com
Alpha Insurance Analysts Limited James Sparrow, Managing Director and Analyst james@aianalysts.com
AmTrust Syndicates Limited Alex Christians, Underwriting Director alex.christians@anv.eu.com
Antares Managing Agency Limited Jim Lyle, Head of Energy & Terrorism jlye@qicglobal.com
Apollo Syndicate Management Limited David Ibeson, CEO david.ibeson@apollounderwriting.com
Arch Underwriting at Lloyd's Ltd Hugh Sturgess, CEO hsturgess@archinsurance.co.uk
Argenta Private Capital Limited see below below
Argenta Syndicate Management Limited David Monksfield, Chairman, david.monksfield@argentagroup.com
Argo Managing Agency Limited David Snowden, SVP Group Communications david.snowden@argogroupus.com
Ark Syndicate Management Limited Ian Beaton, CEO ian.beaton@arkunderwriting.com
Ascot Underwriting Limited Andrew Brooks, CEO andrew.brooks@ascotuw.com
Aspen Managing Agency Limited Jamie Lewis - Head of London Aspen Re, jamie.lewis@aspen-re.com +442071848319 jamie.lewis@aspen-re.com
Asta Managing Agency Limited Julian Tighe j.tighe@asta-uk.com CEO, Keith Nevett k.nevett@asta-uk.com Head of Business Development j.tighe@asta-uk.com
Atrium Underwriters Limited Richard Harries, CEO Richard.Harries@atrium-uw.com
Axis Managing Agency Ltd Victoria Rodrigues da Costa, Senior Underwriter victoria.rodriguesdacosta@axiscapital.com
Barbican Managing Agency David Reeves, CEO david.reeves@barbicaninsurance.com
Beazley Furlonge Limited Sally Lake, Group Finance Director sally.lake@beazley.com
Brit Syndicates Limited Brian Randall, Energy Director brian.randall@britinsurance.com
Canopius Managing Agents Limited Rachel Sabbarton, Head of Energy Rachel.Sabbarton@canopius.com
Capita Managing Agency Limited Simon Sykes, CEO CSIS.enquiries@capita.com
Catlin Underwriting Agencies Limited (owned by AXA) Sean McGovern, CEO at Lloyd's sean.mcgovern@axaxl.com
Chaucer Syndicates Limited Ed Lines, Active Underwriter, Syndicate 1084

Michael Dawson, Active Underwriter, Syndicate 1176

ed.lines@chaucerplc.com

michael.dawson@chaucerplc.com

Chubb Underwriting Agencies Limited Evan G. Greenberg, CEO evan.greenberg@chubb.com
CNA Hardy Jalil Rehman, CEO Jalil.Rehman@cnahardy.com
Endurance at Lloyd's Limited Julian James, CEO jjames@sompo-intl.com
ERS Syndicate Management Limited Peter Bilsby, CEO peter.bilsby@ers.com
Faraday Underwriting Limited Tom Shelley, CEO tom.shelley@faraday.com
Hamilton Managing Agency Limited Adrian Daws, ceo adrian.daws@hamiltongroup.com
Hampden Agencies Limited Stephen Harris, CEO Stephen.harris@hampden.co.uk
HCC Underwriting Agency Ltd Susan Rivera, CEO srivera@tmhcc.com
Hiscox Syndicates Limited Kate Markham, CEO kate.markham@hiscox.com
Lancashire Syndicates Limited Alex Priestly, Head of Energy alex.priestley@lancashiregroup.com
Liberty Managing Agency Limited Matthew Moore, President matthew.moore@libertyglobalgroup.com
Managing Agency Partners Limited Chris Smelt, ED csmelt@mapunderwriting.co.uk
Markel Syndicate Management Limited Paul Jenks, ED paul.jenks@markelintl.com
MS Amlin Underwriting Limited Chris Beazley, CEO Chris.Beazley@msamlin.com
Munich Re Syndicate Limited James Grainger, Head of Energy & Aerospace jgrainger@munichre.com
Navigators Underwriting Agency Limited Tim Ryan, Head of wholesale business timothy.ryan@thehartford.com
Nephila Syndicate Management Limited Richard Oduntan, CEO richard.oduntan@nephila.com
Newline Underwriting Management Limited Andrew Higgins, Senior Underwriter AHiggins@newlinegroup.com
Premia Managing Agency Limited Bill O'Farrell, CEO bofarrell@premiareus.com
QBE Underwriting Limited David Harries - Director of Financial Market david.harries@uk.qbe.com
RenaissanceRe Syndicate Management Limited Bryan Dalton, CUO bmd@renre.com
Riverstone Management Limited David Pearson, Head of Delegated Authority & Client Management david.pearson@rsml.co.uk
S.A. Meacock & Company Limited Matthew Bartlett, CEO matthew.bartlett@sameacock.com.
Sirius International Managing Agency Limited Robert Harman, CEO robert.harman@siriusgroup.com
Starr Managing Agents Limited James Johnson, Head of Power James.johnson@starrcompanies.com
Talbot Underwriting Ltd Chris Rash, CEO Paula.Storey@talbotuw.com
The Channel Managing Agency Limited Stuart McMurdo smcmurdo@scor.com
Tokio Marine Kiln Syndicates Limited Nick Hutton-Penman, Deputy Group CEO nick.hutton-penman@tokiomarinekiln.com
Travelers Syndicate Management Limited Nick Rnjak nrnjak@travelers.com
W.R.Berkley Syndicate Management Limited Alastair Blades, CEO ablades@wrbunderwriting.com

Share now:

Subscribe
Notify of
guest

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Never miss an update! Sign up to our Newsletter

OTHER STORIES

Hearing date set for proposed West Cumbria Coal mine

The legal challenges against the government’s approval of a new coal mine off the coast of Cumbria will be heard in London on the 16th to 18th July.

Support local campaign group resist Bedwas coal mine

Mining company, ERI Ltd, is applying to mine nearly half a million tonnes of coal from two coal tips dumped in Caerphilly, South Wales by the same mining industry last time it operated in the area.

Bedwas coal tips: Key facts and impacts

Mining company, ERI Ltd, is applying to mine nearly half a million tonnes of coal from two coal tips dumped in Caerphilly, South Wales, by the mining industry last time it operated in the area. It’s vital we stop this shameless attempt to exploit the mess left behind by the mining industry to justify yet more mining. If the coal tip mining were to go ahead, it would…

Ffos-y-fran opencast coal mine quietly becomes a massive reservoir

Coal Action Network’s drone footage on Monday 11th March raised the alarm bell about the rising water levels. With this footage, a local resident informed Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council of the rising water levels, only to be told…

Global Week of Action: Putting Insurance Industry in the Hot Seat

The insurance industry found itself in the spotlight last week as a Global Week of Action blossomed across the world. From February 27th to March 3rd 2024, a wave of protests, both online and in the streets, swept through the doors of insurance giants, demanding accountability over their support for polluters and decisive action on climate change.

Protesters walk with banner reading 'Insure Our Futures Not Polluters'

Success: Yet another major insurer rules out coal and oil projects

After a week of peaceful protest around the world, alongside hundreds of groups, our efforts have paid off. Yet another leading insurance company, Probitas, has ruled out insuring the proposed West Cumbria coal mine and the East African Crude Oil Pipeline (EACOP).

Bedwas coal tip: a new frontier for coal in South Wales?

‘Energy Recovery Investments Ltd’ is proprosing to extract the coal from 3 large coal tips in Bedwas, Caerphilly, South Wales. The company claims that it would use some of the sales of the coal to restore those coal tips later. The coal tips lie above a coal seam, which the company claims it would coincidentally have to dig into to create ‘lagoons’ for processing the coal from the coal tips…

Charges dropped for activists blocking Ffos-y-fran coal mine

The Crown Prosecution Service has dropped all charges against the four Extinction Rebellion (XR) activists who blockaded the entrance to the UK’s largest open-cast coal mine, last summer with a pink boat. While removing the immediate burden of legal confrontation for the defendants, the decision has left a “crater of unfinished business” in the fight for climate justice and accountability for local residents…

Coal clings on in Aberpergwm appeal

Citing different grounds to the High Court, the Court of Appeal has nevertheless found against our appeal. The Court of Appeal judges disagreed with the judge in the High Court, and decided that current statute limits Welsh Ministers to only deciding whether a new conditional licence may be issued…

CONNECT WITH US

Share now:

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x