Sample Letter & Lloyd's Email Addresses

Dear [insert name here],

I am writing to you with regards to your potential involvement in the Woodhouse Colliery at Whitehaven, Cumbria, and other coking coal projects. I am one of many people concerned that West Cumbria Mining is seeking insurance for the mine via the Lloyd’s of London marketplace. Michaele Hawkins has informed me that she believes that the West Cumbria Mine is not currently insured through the Lloyd’s market. We would like [name of insurance company] to go one step further and commit to not ever insuring this new mine, and no other future coking coal mine.

Woodhouse Colliery will be the first new deep coal mine in the UK for 30 years. There has been strong opposition to the project on environmental grounds. The Woodhouse Colliery will result in huge CO2e emissions. We cannot open new coal mines and avoid catastrophic climate change. This mine will extract 2.78 million tonnes of coal per year and is not compatible with the Paris Agreement or the UK 6th Carbon Budget.

Following a push from community campaigners, Robert Jenrick Secretary of State has called a Public Inquiry to look more closely into the project. In September 2020 Robert Jenrick ruled out the Highthorn opencast coal mine citing its environmental and climate impacts. This shows how the issues raised by campaigners are not only of local relevance, but they are nationally and internationally relevant.

Further to this, coal is the biggest contributor to anthropogenic climate change. Climate change is affecting communities in the Global South first and hardest, despite they are not the ones who have caused the problem. In the Global North, is it communities of colour and working class communities that are on the frontlines of climate change. The climate crisis is a justice issue.

We believe you should not insure the Woodhouse Colliery and any new coking coal mines on the following grounds:

  •  The Woodhouse Colliery project is not compliant with the UK’s commitments under the Paris Climate Agreement.
  • The Woodhouse Colliery project will delay the shift to cleaner steel in the UK and Europe.
  • Any new coking coal mine will lock the world into more CO2 emissions, make a transition to a low-carbon future even harder, and condemn many communities to lose their livelihoods due to runaway climate change.
  • There needs to be no new policies or renewals of policies, for coal underwriting from today.

We hope you will be able to take a clear stance and rule out insuring the Woodhouse Colliery and any new coking coal mine.

Please could you confirm receipt of this email. I look forward to hearing your response.

Yours sincerely,

[Your name]

Names and emails of the directors of insurance companies that have not ruled out insuring the West Cumbria mine:

Name Contact Email
AEGIS Managing Agency Limited William Hillman, Senior Vice President & Chief Underwriting Officer williamhillman@aegislimited.com
Allied World Managing Agency Limited Darren Powell, Active Underwriter, darren.powell@awac.com
Alpha Insurance Analysts Limited James Sparrow, Managing Director and Analyst james@aianalysts.com
AmTrust Syndicates Limited Alex Christians, Underwriting Director alex.christians@anv.eu.com
Antares Managing Agency Limited Jim Lyle, Head of Energy & Terrorism jlye@qicglobal.com
Apollo Syndicate Management Limited David Ibeson, CEO david.ibeson@apollounderwriting.com
Arch Underwriting at Lloyd's Ltd Hugh Sturgess, CEO hsturgess@archinsurance.co.uk
Argenta Private Capital Limited see below below
Argenta Syndicate Management Limited David Monksfield, Chairman, david.monksfield@argentagroup.com
Argo Managing Agency Limited David Snowden, SVP Group Communications david.snowden@argogroupus.com
Ark Syndicate Management Limited Ian Beaton, CEO ian.beaton@arkunderwriting.com
Ascot Underwriting Limited Andrew Brooks, CEO andrew.brooks@ascotuw.com
Aspen Managing Agency Limited Jamie Lewis - Head of London Aspen Re, jamie.lewis@aspen-re.com +442071848319 jamie.lewis@aspen-re.com
Asta Managing Agency Limited Julian Tighe j.tighe@asta-uk.com CEO, Keith Nevett k.nevett@asta-uk.com Head of Business Development j.tighe@asta-uk.com
Atrium Underwriters Limited Richard Harries, CEO Richard.Harries@atrium-uw.com
Axis Managing Agency Ltd Victoria Rodrigues da Costa, Senior Underwriter victoria.rodriguesdacosta@axiscapital.com
Barbican Managing Agency David Reeves, CEO david.reeves@barbicaninsurance.com
Beazley Furlonge Limited Sally Lake, Group Finance Director sally.lake@beazley.com
Brit Syndicates Limited Brian Randall, Energy Director brian.randall@britinsurance.com
Canopius Managing Agents Limited Rachel Sabbarton, Head of Energy Rachel.Sabbarton@canopius.com
Capita Managing Agency Limited Simon Sykes, CEO CSIS.enquiries@capita.com
Catlin Underwriting Agencies Limited (owned by AXA) Sean McGovern, CEO at Lloyd's sean.mcgovern@axaxl.com
Chaucer Syndicates Limited Ed Lines, Active Underwriter, Syndicate 1084

Michael Dawson, Active Underwriter, Syndicate 1176

ed.lines@chaucerplc.com

michael.dawson@chaucerplc.com

Chubb Underwriting Agencies Limited Evan G. Greenberg, CEO evan.greenberg@chubb.com
CNA Hardy Jalil Rehman, CEO Jalil.Rehman@cnahardy.com
Endurance at Lloyd's Limited Julian James, CEO jjames@sompo-intl.com
ERS Syndicate Management Limited Peter Bilsby, CEO peter.bilsby@ers.com
Faraday Underwriting Limited Tom Shelley, CEO tom.shelley@faraday.com
Hamilton Managing Agency Limited Adrian Daws, ceo adrian.daws@hamiltongroup.com
Hampden Agencies Limited Stephen Harris, CEO Stephen.harris@hampden.co.uk
HCC Underwriting Agency Ltd Susan Rivera, CEO srivera@tmhcc.com
Hiscox Syndicates Limited Kate Markham, CEO kate.markham@hiscox.com
Lancashire Syndicates Limited Alex Priestly, Head of Energy alex.priestley@lancashiregroup.com
Liberty Managing Agency Limited Matthew Moore, President matthew.moore@libertyglobalgroup.com
Managing Agency Partners Limited Chris Smelt, ED csmelt@mapunderwriting.co.uk
Markel Syndicate Management Limited Paul Jenks, ED paul.jenks@markelintl.com
MS Amlin Underwriting Limited Chris Beazley, CEO Chris.Beazley@msamlin.com
Munich Re Syndicate Limited James Grainger, Head of Energy & Aerospace jgrainger@munichre.com
Navigators Underwriting Agency Limited Tim Ryan, Head of wholesale business timothy.ryan@thehartford.com
Nephila Syndicate Management Limited Richard Oduntan, CEO richard.oduntan@nephila.com
Newline Underwriting Management Limited Andrew Higgins, Senior Underwriter AHiggins@newlinegroup.com
Premia Managing Agency Limited Bill O'Farrell, CEO bofarrell@premiareus.com
QBE Underwriting Limited David Harries - Director of Financial Market david.harries@uk.qbe.com
RenaissanceRe Syndicate Management Limited Bryan Dalton, CUO bmd@renre.com
Riverstone Management Limited David Pearson, Head of Delegated Authority & Client Management david.pearson@rsml.co.uk
S.A. Meacock & Company Limited Matthew Bartlett, CEO matthew.bartlett@sameacock.com.
Sirius International Managing Agency Limited Robert Harman, CEO robert.harman@siriusgroup.com
Starr Managing Agents Limited James Johnson, Head of Power James.johnson@starrcompanies.com
Talbot Underwriting Ltd Chris Rash, CEO Paula.Storey@talbotuw.com
The Channel Managing Agency Limited Stuart McMurdo smcmurdo@scor.com
Tokio Marine Kiln Syndicates Limited Nick Hutton-Penman, Deputy Group CEO nick.hutton-penman@tokiomarinekiln.com
Travelers Syndicate Management Limited Nick Rnjak nrnjak@travelers.com
W.R.Berkley Syndicate Management Limited Alastair Blades, CEO ablades@wrbunderwriting.com
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Never miss an update! Sign up to our Newsletter

OTHER STORIES

Europe is Still Burning….

A new report – Still Burning – tells the harrowing but little-known stories of the communities from Russia, Colombia, the USA, and Australia whose homes and way of life are literally torn up to mine the coal beneath them, suffering widespread human rights abuses.

Public inquiry called into West Cumbria coal mine application

STOP PRESS: in a surprise decision, the West Cumbria coal mine application is going to a public inquiry called by Robert Jenrick (Secretary of State), announced late yesterday (11.03.2021). Climate change will never be a local issue.

Brit & Hiscox will never insure Adani coal mine

Major Lloyd’s of London insurer Brit is the latest firm to rule out insurance for Adani’s controversial Carmichael coal mine project.

Tonight is the end of an 800-year era for coal exports from the North East of England

Tonight, 18th February 2021, marks the final shipment of coal mined from the North East of England. This marks a momentous victory for the years of anti-coal action, most recently the successfully defeated open cast coal mine application in Dewley Hill, near Newcastle.

Lloyd’s of London Insure the Adani Mega-mine

People across Australia have been fighting for 10 years to stop one on the most devastating mining projects currently being planned on the globe. Folks in Australia have asked for our help to stop Adani and here’s why…

“Nothing neutral in new coal” – youth activists pressure government to stop coking coal mine

Today [8thFebruary 2021], youth climate activists added their voice against the planned coking coal mine in West Cumbria. Elijah McKenzie-Jackson (17) submitted a 111,000 signature petition to the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Urgent youth action- demand that government stops a new coal mine & gets real about climate change

Thanks everyone who helped, this action has now ended.
Could you participate in an online demonstration? We’re asking young people to take a photograph of themselves with a placard against the planned coal mine. We want to add these photos to a video of us sending this petition on Monday to demand the government stops this coal mine.

Key facts and figures on the West Cumbria Mining Project

West Cumbria Mining Ltd. want to extract 2.78 million tonnes of coking coal a year from under the sea near Whitehaven in a ‘deep’ coal mine. The coal is predominantly for export and would be consumed by the steel industry. Find out the truth about the proposal.

Disappointment as Government allows underground coking coal mine application to go ahead

We’re disappointed to let you know that on the 6th January 2020, the Secretary of State for Housing Communities and Local Government, Robert Jenrick said that the government will not step in and review Cumbria County Council’s decision to approve the Woodhouse Colliery Application.

CONNECT WITH US

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x