BACK TO TOP

Sample Letter & Lloyd's Email Addresses

Dear [insert name here],

I am writing to you with regards to your potential involvement in the Woodhouse Colliery at Whitehaven, Cumbria, and other coking coal projects. I am one of many people concerned that West Cumbria Mining is seeking insurance for the mine via the Lloyd’s of London marketplace. Michaele Hawkins has informed me that she believes that the West Cumbria Mine is not currently insured through the Lloyd’s market. We would like [name of insurance company] to go one step further and commit to not ever insuring this new mine, and no other future coking coal mine.

Woodhouse Colliery will be the first new deep coal mine in the UK for 30 years. There has been strong opposition to the project on environmental grounds. The Woodhouse Colliery will result in huge CO2e emissions. We cannot open new coal mines and avoid catastrophic climate change. This mine will extract 2.78 million tonnes of coal per year and is not compatible with the Paris Agreement or the UK 6th Carbon Budget.

Following a push from community campaigners, Robert Jenrick Secretary of State has called a Public Inquiry to look more closely into the project. In September 2020 Robert Jenrick ruled out the Highthorn opencast coal mine citing its environmental and climate impacts. This shows how the issues raised by campaigners are not only of local relevance, but they are nationally and internationally relevant.

Further to this, coal is the biggest contributor to anthropogenic climate change. Climate change is affecting communities in the Global South first and hardest, despite they are not the ones who have caused the problem. In the Global North, is it communities of colour and working class communities that are on the frontlines of climate change. The climate crisis is a justice issue.

We believe you should not insure the Woodhouse Colliery and any new coking coal mines on the following grounds:

  •  The Woodhouse Colliery project is not compliant with the UK’s commitments under the Paris Climate Agreement.
  • The Woodhouse Colliery project will delay the shift to cleaner steel in the UK and Europe.
  • Any new coking coal mine will lock the world into more CO2 emissions, make a transition to a low-carbon future even harder, and condemn many communities to lose their livelihoods due to runaway climate change.
  • There needs to be no new policies or renewals of policies, for coal underwriting from today.

We hope you will be able to take a clear stance and rule out insuring the Woodhouse Colliery and any new coking coal mine.

Please could you confirm receipt of this email. I look forward to hearing your response.

Yours sincerely,

[Your name]

Names and emails of the directors of insurance companies that have not ruled out insuring the West Cumbria mine:

Name Contact Email
AEGIS Managing Agency Limited William Hillman, Senior Vice President & Chief Underwriting Officer williamhillman@aegislimited.com
Allied World Managing Agency Limited Darren Powell, Active Underwriter, darren.powell@awac.com
Alpha Insurance Analysts Limited James Sparrow, Managing Director and Analyst james@aianalysts.com
AmTrust Syndicates Limited Alex Christians, Underwriting Director alex.christians@anv.eu.com
Antares Managing Agency Limited Jim Lyle, Head of Energy & Terrorism jlye@qicglobal.com
Apollo Syndicate Management Limited David Ibeson, CEO david.ibeson@apollounderwriting.com
Arch Underwriting at Lloyd's Ltd Hugh Sturgess, CEO hsturgess@archinsurance.co.uk
Argenta Private Capital Limited see below below
Argenta Syndicate Management Limited David Monksfield, Chairman, david.monksfield@argentagroup.com
Argo Managing Agency Limited David Snowden, SVP Group Communications david.snowden@argogroupus.com
Ark Syndicate Management Limited Ian Beaton, CEO ian.beaton@arkunderwriting.com
Ascot Underwriting Limited Andrew Brooks, CEO andrew.brooks@ascotuw.com
Aspen Managing Agency Limited Jamie Lewis - Head of London Aspen Re, jamie.lewis@aspen-re.com +442071848319 jamie.lewis@aspen-re.com
Asta Managing Agency Limited Julian Tighe j.tighe@asta-uk.com CEO, Keith Nevett k.nevett@asta-uk.com Head of Business Development j.tighe@asta-uk.com
Atrium Underwriters Limited Richard Harries, CEO Richard.Harries@atrium-uw.com
Axis Managing Agency Ltd Victoria Rodrigues da Costa, Senior Underwriter victoria.rodriguesdacosta@axiscapital.com
Barbican Managing Agency David Reeves, CEO david.reeves@barbicaninsurance.com
Beazley Furlonge Limited Sally Lake, Group Finance Director sally.lake@beazley.com
Brit Syndicates Limited Brian Randall, Energy Director brian.randall@britinsurance.com
Canopius Managing Agents Limited Rachel Sabbarton, Head of Energy Rachel.Sabbarton@canopius.com
Capita Managing Agency Limited Simon Sykes, CEO CSIS.enquiries@capita.com
Catlin Underwriting Agencies Limited (owned by AXA) Sean McGovern, CEO at Lloyd's sean.mcgovern@axaxl.com
Chaucer Syndicates Limited Ed Lines, Active Underwriter, Syndicate 1084

Michael Dawson, Active Underwriter, Syndicate 1176

ed.lines@chaucerplc.com

michael.dawson@chaucerplc.com

Chubb Underwriting Agencies Limited Evan G. Greenberg, CEO evan.greenberg@chubb.com
CNA Hardy Jalil Rehman, CEO Jalil.Rehman@cnahardy.com
Endurance at Lloyd's Limited Julian James, CEO jjames@sompo-intl.com
ERS Syndicate Management Limited Peter Bilsby, CEO peter.bilsby@ers.com
Faraday Underwriting Limited Tom Shelley, CEO tom.shelley@faraday.com
Hamilton Managing Agency Limited Adrian Daws, ceo adrian.daws@hamiltongroup.com
Hampden Agencies Limited Stephen Harris, CEO Stephen.harris@hampden.co.uk
HCC Underwriting Agency Ltd Susan Rivera, CEO srivera@tmhcc.com
Hiscox Syndicates Limited Kate Markham, CEO kate.markham@hiscox.com
Lancashire Syndicates Limited Alex Priestly, Head of Energy alex.priestley@lancashiregroup.com
Liberty Managing Agency Limited Matthew Moore, President matthew.moore@libertyglobalgroup.com
Managing Agency Partners Limited Chris Smelt, ED csmelt@mapunderwriting.co.uk
Markel Syndicate Management Limited Paul Jenks, ED paul.jenks@markelintl.com
MS Amlin Underwriting Limited Chris Beazley, CEO Chris.Beazley@msamlin.com
Munich Re Syndicate Limited James Grainger, Head of Energy & Aerospace jgrainger@munichre.com
Navigators Underwriting Agency Limited Tim Ryan, Head of wholesale business timothy.ryan@thehartford.com
Nephila Syndicate Management Limited Richard Oduntan, CEO richard.oduntan@nephila.com
Newline Underwriting Management Limited Andrew Higgins, Senior Underwriter AHiggins@newlinegroup.com
Premia Managing Agency Limited Bill O'Farrell, CEO bofarrell@premiareus.com
QBE Underwriting Limited David Harries - Director of Financial Market david.harries@uk.qbe.com
RenaissanceRe Syndicate Management Limited Bryan Dalton, CUO bmd@renre.com
Riverstone Management Limited David Pearson, Head of Delegated Authority & Client Management david.pearson@rsml.co.uk
S.A. Meacock & Company Limited Matthew Bartlett, CEO matthew.bartlett@sameacock.com.
Sirius International Managing Agency Limited Robert Harman, CEO robert.harman@siriusgroup.com
Starr Managing Agents Limited James Johnson, Head of Power James.johnson@starrcompanies.com
Talbot Underwriting Ltd Chris Rash, CEO Paula.Storey@talbotuw.com
The Channel Managing Agency Limited Stuart McMurdo smcmurdo@scor.com
Tokio Marine Kiln Syndicates Limited Nick Hutton-Penman, Deputy Group CEO nick.hutton-penman@tokiomarinekiln.com
Travelers Syndicate Management Limited Nick Rnjak nrnjak@travelers.com
W.R.Berkley Syndicate Management Limited Alastair Blades, CEO ablades@wrbunderwriting.com
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Never miss an update! Sign up to our Newsletter

OTHER STORIES

Write to your MP to stop the Whitehaven coal mine proposal

The decision to stop or allow the proposed 61.4 million tonne coal mine has been delayed. We are keen to apply as much pressure to stop the mine as possible. Please join us in writing to your MP now to ask that they do everything in their power to stop the mine.

Key facts: Whitehaven coal mine

Coal to be excavated: 61.4 million tonnes of coal in total and 2.93 million tonnes of coal per annum (at full capacity)

Coal to be sold: 55.6 million tonnes of coal in total and 2.78 million tonnes of coal per annum (at full capacity)…

Lochinvar proposal – a licence to harm

New Age Exploration Ltd propose to extract up to 33.7 million tonnes of coking coal for steelworks in the UK and beyond between 2025 and 2051 near Carlisle, in South West Scotland. This may worsen local air quality, reduce the value of nearby residential properties, make local roads more dangerous with HGV traffic, and will emit around 73 million…

Anti-coal workshop – Earth First! Summer gathering

We will be running a workshop at this year’s Earth First! Summer gathering, which runs Wednesday 31st till Monday 5th in the South West of England.

Energy capacity market consultation response

We are concerned that the 2024 coal phase-out date is being used by the UK Government to deflect criticism for its support of using coal up until that date, when what we need is the most rapid phase-out of coal that is possible as the UK careers further from its climate targets…

Whitehaven coal mine decision due – Russia’s invasion of Ukraine is no excuse to mine

Several years ago West Cumbria Mining Ltd, backed by an Australian company applied to extract coal from a new underground coking coal mine under the sea by Whitehaven, Cumbria. A decision is now due, but there are some using the appalling invasion of Ukraine by Russia to justify more mining in the UK.

Utilities struggle to insure new coal power, contracts reveal

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Nec dui nunc mattis enim ut tellus elementum. Massa massa ultricies mi quis.

Aberpergwm and the Well-being of Future Generations (Wales) Act

There is a law in Wales that helps the country all work together to improve the environment, the economy, the society and the culture. For people, for the planet. For now, and for our future. It is called the Well-being of Future Generations Act. Is it compatible with a coal mine extension at Aberpergwm?

Coal Action Network protest outside of Lloyd’s of London AGM

Last Thursday, 18th May, Coal Action Network protested outside of Lloyd’s of London, for their role in insuring the expansion of the Trans Mountain Pipeline (TMX) and the East Africa Crude Oil Pipeline (EACOP).

CONNECT WITH US

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x